By Mike Leone

June 11, 2013                         FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

(Pulaski, PA)…After nearly three weeks off since the successful Bill Emig Memorial “Wild Card Weekend” at Sharon Speedway, the Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC RUSH Dirt Late Model Touring Series will resume action this Friday night, June 14 for race #4 of 27.  Racers will then have the opportunity on Saturday night to compete in a Sweeney Weekly Series event at McKean as part of the two-day “Down and Dirty” Weekend at the East Smethport, Pa. fairground oval. 


Friday’s event at McKean is the rescheduled May 23 show that was rained out before any action hit the speedway, and will be their first of five Sweeney Tour events in 2013!  McKean is under new management in 2013 and have featured the region’s highest weekly car counts to date with an average car count of 26 per night!  


Max Blair has won all four Sweeney Weekly Series events and will bring that streak into Friday night with a lot of competitors looking to end the run.  Blair has yet to make a Sweeney Touring Series start this season and in addition to his four McKean wins, also has a Sweeney Weekly Series victory at Sportsman’s Speedway earlier this month.


While Blair will lead the always strong northern local contingent at McKean, Maryland racer Glenn Elliott will head north and lead the Sweeney Touring troops.  Elliott has been very consistent and yet to finish worse than third this year in the three races, but is still looking for that first win.  Since his time off, Elliott recently picked up a Super Late Model win at Port Royal Speedway!

Rick Singleton has also been impressive.  The Hesston, Pa. former Seattle Seahawk was the inaugural Sweeney Touring winner at Hagerstown and then recorded back-to-back fourth place runs at Sharon.  He trails Elliott by just two points.  Mike Pegher, Jr., the May 25 Sharon winner, is third in points and always enjoys competing at McKean.  Joe Martin has yet to finish worse than ninth in the three races and is fourth in points over West Virginia racer Ryan Montgomery, who won the last Tour event at Sharon. 


The top 15 spots at season’s end will receive point fund monies and currently filling those spots are Chad Ruhlman, John Over, Josh Holtgraver, Josh Double, Matt Glanden, Butch Lambert, followed by “Futures Cup” contenders Jorden Peters, Shane Weaver, Michael Lake, and Lauren Longbrake. 


“We have to thank NDRL’s John Kennedy and Chris Zuver for their support of our RUSH program in our first year,” stated RUSH Co-Director Vicki Emig.  “Not only did they sanction with us, but they added several more Sweeney Weekly Series events than were originally planned, and in addition to the five Sweeney Tour events at McKean, have also included us at some of their other NDRL events that we’ll have more info on in the near future.  I know a lot of racers will appreciate the ability to stay and compete in a Weekly Series event on Saturday as there are no other Tour events scheduled the rest of the weekend.”

The Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC RUSH Dirt Late Model Series will be with NDRL’s ULMS Super Late Models that will be paying $5,000 to-win on Friday night at $7,500 to-win on Saturday night!  At 5 p.m. on Saturday, country music star Cody McCarver will be performing live!  McKean’s RUSH Weekly Series payoff is $750 to-win or $1,000 if there are 24 or more cars.


The K&N “Cold Air Induction” Dash will be run Friday night awarding $100 K&N certificate for the win, $50 certificate for second with $25 cash to all other starters.  Chad McClellan, Chad Ruhlman, and Glenn Elliott have picked up the victories so far and are tied for the K&N point lead.

Other programs taking place Friday will be the Precise Racing Products “Pedal Down Hard Charger” as the driver that passes the most cars in the feature will receive $100 Precise certificate.  RUSH Officials will choose The Brake Man “Tough Brake of the Night” each night as this driver will receive three
bottles of Xtreme6 Racing Brake Fluid valued at approximately $45 along with a certificate good for either $50 off of a purchase of $100 or more or 20% off any The Brake Man purchase.


The “Wheelman” Bonus Event Challenge Series will be held for drivers failing to qualify for the feature each night paying $150 to-start, $80 to-start.  Randy Wible won the opening event at Hagerstown, while Russell Baird, Jr. and Mike Anderson won the Sharon races.


Feature payoff: 1. $1,500  2. $800  3. $550  4. $410  5. $375  6. $340  7. $325  8. $295  9. $285  10. $280  11. $255  12. $250  13. $230  14. $225  15. $200  16. $195  17. $190  18-24. $185. 

Non-Qualifier: 1. $150  2. $125  3. $115  4. $110  5. $105  6. $100  7. $95  8. $90  9. $85  10-24. $80. Tow $75.


Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC Touring Series DRIVER Points (must be Touring member to receive points): 1. Glenn Elliott 290  2. Rick Singleton 288  3. Mike Pegher, Jr. 283  4. Joe Martin 277  5. Ryan Montgomery 264  6. Chad Ruhlman 258  7. John Over 251  8. Josh Holtgraver 250  9. Josh Double 241  10. Matt Glanden 239  11. Butch Lambert 237  12. Jorden Peters 235  13. Shane Weaver 229  14. Michael Lake 222  15. Lauren Longbrake 174  16. Dennis Lunger, Jr. 170  17. Matt Latta 150  18. Cody Dawson 143  19. Russell Baird, Jr. 142  20. Scott Tessman 90  21. Dan Angelicchio 92  22. D.J. Troutman 90  23. Andrew Satterlee 89  24. Darren Peters 87  25. Bryce Davis 84  26. Justin Tatlow 78  27. Will Thomas III 75  28. Eric Wilson, Jamie Brown, Mike Wharton, Paul McGinley, Randy Wible, W.L. Stile 70.


You do not have to be a RUSH member to compete in any RUSH-sanctioned event.  Racers can join Weekly or Touring for $100 each.  There will be a $75 entry fee on Friday night.  RACEceivers are mandatory at every RUSH Tour event. 


Pits will be open all afternoon for early arrivals.  Warm-ups begin at approximately 7:10 p.m. with racing at 7:30.  For tech questions, contact Travis Harry at 814-676-9997 (work) or 814-758-5737 (cell).


McKean County Raceway is a 1/3-mile dirt track located at the McKean County Fairgrounds in East Smethport, Pa. at the intersections of Route 6 and 46.  For more information on McKean County Raceway, check out their website at www.mckeancountyraceway.com or call Chris Zuver at 814-598-2601. The track number is 814-887-2600.


2013 RUSH marketing partners include Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC, Pace Performance, RainEater Wiper Blades, Hoosier Tire, Precise Racing Products, ARbodies, The Brake Man, K&N Filters, Lincoln Electric, TurboStart, Beyea Headers, FK Rod Ends, K1 RaceGear, Bobby Lake Motorsports, Wrisco Industries, High Gear Speed Shop, Utsinger’s Towing, RockAuto.com, and Valley Fashions.

E-mail can be sent to the RUSH Racing Series at [email protected] and snail mail to 4368 Route 422, Pulaski, PA 16143. Office phone is 724-964-9300 and fax is 724-964-0604. The RUSH Racing Series website is www.rushracingseries.com. Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/rushlatemodels and follow us on Twitter @RUSHLM.