By Mike Leone

July 18, 2013                          FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

(Pulaski, PA)…After a busy stretch for the “Cross the Borders” Speedweek, the Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC RUSH Dirt Late Model Series will try again this Saturday night (July 20) at Sharon Speedway to complete “Sweeney Night” that was rained out on July 6 featuring the GM 604 engine giveaway and the conclusion of the five-night Speedweek.


Race #11 of the 26-event inaugural slate will pay $2,000 to-win using the qualifying format.  The competitive Sweeney Touring Series has featured eight different winners in 10 events with Mike Pegher, Jr. being the only multiple winner!  The Bobby Lake Motorsports “Shock the Clock & Beat the Heat” Quick Cash Programs will be in effect on Saturday night at Sharon.  The fast qualifier will receive $100, while the heat race winners will receive an extra $25 cash. 


With it being “Sweeney Night”, one lucky RUSH racer will leave with a brand new GM 604 engine valued at over $5,500!  Drivers will get one chance for participating, a second chance for being either a Weekly or Touring Series member, and a third chance if they are members of both Series.  Those that were in attendance on July 6 will also receive an additional chance as show-up points were awarded.  Past winners include Ben Black (2011) and Paul Jablonski (2012). 


Saturday’s event was originally scheduled for leg two of the five-night Speedweek, but will now be the finale and determine the top 10 points paying $3,000 championship with $1,000 and a beautiful trophy going to the champion and paying back to $100 for 10th.  Currently Ryan Montgomery leads Max Blair by 11 as Rick Singleton, Pegher, Joe Martin, Chad Ruhlman, Matt Glanden, Justin Tatlow, Butch Lambert, and Matt Latta complete the top 10.  A total of 75 different cars have competed in at least one of the first four nights of Speedweek!


In the overall $5,000 to-win Sweeney Tour Championship, Pegher holds on to a mere five-point lead over Singleton; ironically Pegher also leads Singleton in the $5,000 to-win Sweeney Weekly Series Championship!  The Tour will pay the top 15 in points and currently filling positions 3-15 are Montgomery, Martin, Ruhlman, Jorden Peters, Glanden, Lambert, Cody Dawson, Glenn Elliott, “Futures Cup” point leader Michael Lake, John Over, Latta, Blair, and Josh Double. 


In addition to the engine giveaway and the normal Touring Series contingencies, TurboStart will again be giving away a 16-volt racing battery valued at over $250!  TurboStart is giving 10 of these batteries away this season.  So far, Michael Lake and Mike Pegher, Jr. have been the recipients.    Also, the second ARbodies “Nosed Out” nose kit giveaway will be held for the first driver not making the feature.  This is nearly a $250 value as well!  Russell Baird, Jr. won the prize earlier this year.


“Saturday is a huge night,” stated RUSH Series Director Vicki Emig.  “Not only is it a higher paying race, but the fact that one driver will be leaving with a brand new engine is quite amazing.  We all need to thank Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC and Pace Performance for their support of the Series.  Plus with the TurboStart Battery, the ARbodies nose kit, all of the other contingencies and of course we’ll crown the Speedweek Champion makes this a pretty special night!  It’s also going to be a great show for the fans with the ULMS Super Late Models and UEMS Modifieds.  Hopefully the weather will cooperate.”


The K&N “Cold Air Induction” Dash will be run awarding $100 K&N certificate for the win, $50 certificate for second with $25 cash to all other starters.  Saturday’s K&N Dash will determine the beginning of the feature lineup.  There has yet to be a repeat winner in the 10 K&N Dashes run this season!  Glenn Elliott is the K&N point leader.

Other programs taking place this weekend will be the Precise Racing Products “Pedal Down Hard Charger” as the driver that passes the most cars in the feature will receive $100 Precise certificate.  RUSH Officials will choose The Brake Man “Tough Brake of the Night” each night as this driver will receive three
bottles of Xtreme6 Racing Brake Fluid valued at approximately $45 along with a certificate good for either $50 off of a purchase of $100 or more or 20% off any The Brake Man purchase.


The “Wheelman” Bonus Event Challenge Series will be held for drivers failing to qualify for the feature.  And like the K&N Dash, there also hasn’t been a repeat non-qualifier winner this season!  Jamie Wrightsman is the current point leader.


Sharon feature payoff: 1. $2,000  2. $1,000  3. $650  4. $550  5. $470  6. $435  7. $410  8. $370  9. $340  10. $310  11. $280  12. $270  13. $260  14. $250  15. $240  16. $230  17. $220  18-24. $210. 

Sharon Non-Qualifier: 1. $175  2. $150  3. $140  4. $135  5. $130  6. $125  7. $120  8. $115  9. $110  10-24. $105. Tow $100.


Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC Touring Series DRIVER Points (must be Touring member to receive points): 1. Mike Pegher, Jr. 1074  2. Rick Singleton 1069  3. Ryan Montgomery 1062  4. Joe Martin 1024  5. Chad Ruhlman 921  6. Jorden Peters 859  7. Matt Glanden 858  8. Butch Lambert 797  9. Cody Dawson 674  10. Glenn Elliott 617  11. Michael Lake 601  12. John Over 575  13. Matt Latta 554  14. Max Blair 537  15. Josh Double 491  16. Josh Holtgraver 486  17. Andrew Wylie 469  18. Justin Tatlow 467  19. W.L. Stile 427  20. Dennis Lunger, Jr. 400  21. Eric Wilson 361  22. D.J. Troutman 304  23. Scott Tessman 292  24. Bryce Davis 280  25. Andrew Satterlee 263  26. Dan Angelicchio & Lauren Longbrake 256  28. Shane Weaver 229  29. Paul McGinley 217  30. Will Thomas III 215  31. Adam Sixt 166  32. Mike Wharton 151  33. Luke Carleton 143  34. Russell Baird, Jr. 142  35. Jamie Brown 140  36. Darren Peters 87  37. Troy Swindell 85  38. Mike Laughard, Randy Wible 70.


You do not have to be a RUSH member to compete in any RUSH-sanctioned event.  There will be a $100 entry fee.  RACEceivers and transponders will be mandatory.  Note: though originally scheduled as a “topless” event with the non-wing BOSS Sprints, Saturday’s event will not be topless.


Pits open at 4 p.m. with group qualifying at approximately 6:30 and racing at 7.  Pit passes are $35.  Sharon Speedway is a 3/8-mile dirt track with a GPS address of 3241 Custer-Orangeville Rd. NE, Burghill, OH 44404.  For more information, check out their website at or call 330-772-5481.  As for their social media outlets, you can like their page on Facebook at or follow them on Twitter @SharonSpdwy.


2013 RUSH marketing partners include Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC, Pace Performance, RainEater Wiper Blades, Hoosier Tire, Precise Racing Products, ARbodies, The Brake Man, K&N Filters, Lincoln Electric, TurboStart, Beyea Headers, FK Rod Ends, K1 RaceGear, Bobby Lake Motorsports, Wrisco Industries, High Gear Speed Shop, Utsinger’s Towing,, and Valley Fashions.

E-mail can be sent to the RUSH Racing Series at [email protected] and snail mail to 4368 Route 422, Pulaski, PA 16143. Office phone is 724-964-9300 and fax is 724-964-0604. The RUSH Racing Series website is Like our Facebook page at and follow us on Twitter @RUSHLM.