By Mike Leone


August 16, 2016            FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


(East Smethport, PA)…After two weekends off and a rain out Sunday at Tri-City Raceway Park, the Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC RUSH Dirt Late Model Touring Series looks forward to resuming action this Thursday (August 18) at McKean County Raceway for the first of two appearances this season.  The event is part of the 111th annual McKean County Fair.  Racing begins at 7:30 p.m.


Thursday will be a $1,500 to-win Platinum Tour event.  This will be the sixth straight year being part of the annual McKean County Fair race.  Past winners include Josh Holtgraver (2011), Max Blair (2012), Mike Pegher, Jr. (2013), and Bryce Davis (2014), while last year's event was rained out.  Will there be a fifth different winner on Thursday night!? 


Davis, who has won three of the last five events, leads the Sweeney Tour to McKean with an eight-point lead over two-time winner, John Waters.  The Knowles Brothers, Jason and Brian, have moved into third and fourth in points as the duo both look for their first career Tour wins.  Will Thomas III is fifth in points as Dave Lyon, Eric Wilson, Bruce Hordusky, Jr., Mike Pegher, Jr., and Alan Dellinger complete the top 10.


After operating only for the "Fall Classic" in 2015, McKean has run a limited schedule of events this season.  Touring Series regular, Eric Wilson, has won three of the four races he's entered, and would love to capture his first career Tour win Thursday night.  Blair, Damian Bidwell, and Jeremy Wonderling have won the three other Sweeney Weekly Series events. 


“It’s a privilege to again be able to compete at the McKean County Fair event,” stated RUSH Co-Director Vicki Emig.  “There’s always a great crowd and atmosphere for this event.  We always enjoy our trips to McKean and this will serve as the final tune-up for the popular Fall Classic, which is less than two months away.”


The K&N “Cold Air Induction” Dash will be run paying a $100 K&N certificate to win, $50 K&N certificate for second with $25 cash for third and fourth place.  The K&N Dash will also set the four positions after the feature redraw spots. 


Precise Racing Products will award a $100 gift card for the "Pedal Down" Hard Charger that passes the most cars in the feature.  The TBM Brakes “Tough Brake of the Night” will award three bottles of Xtreme6 Racing Brake Fluid valued at approximately $45 along with a certificate for a discount off any TBM Brakes purchase.  


RUSH Officials will choose the "Maxima Performance" Award for a driver that exhibits a performance worthy of such.  The winner will receive a free case of either Maxima Semi-Syn High Performance Racing Oil or Maxima Performance Racing Oil of your choice.  In addition, the winner will receive one can of SC-1 clear coat, one 16-oz bottle of Maxima Cool-Aide concentrate, one 32-oz quart of Maxima PSF power steering fluid, and a Maxima t-shirt.  The value of this prize package is $170!  


Also, CrateInsider.com will award a $25 gift certificate to the driver that finishes last on the lead lap at the finish.  The first non-qualifier in the Late Models will receive an ARbodies nosed kit valued at $260 for the "Nosed Out" contingency.


Feature payoff : 1. $1,500  2. $800  3. $550  4. $410  5. $375  6. $340  7. $325  8. $295  9. $285  10. $280  11. $255  12. $250  13. $230  14. $225  15. $200  16. $195  17. $190  18-24. $185. 

Non-Qualifier payoff: 1. $150  2. $125  3. $115  4. $110  5. $105  6. $100  7. $95  8. $90  9. $85  10-24. $80. Tow $75.


2016 Sweeney Touring Series Points (must be a Touring Series member to receive points): 1. Bryce Davis 684  2. John Waters 676  3. Jason Knowles 639  4. Brian Knowles 624  5. Will Thomas III 621  6. Dave Lyon 620  7. Eric Wilson 600  8. Bruce Hordusky, Jr. 598  9. Mike Pegher, Jr. 567  10. Alan Dellinger 519  11. Tony White 474  12. Brian Swank 472  13. Clinton Hersh 374  14. Matt Latta 344  15. Kyle Zimmerman 243  16. Damian Bidwell 181  17. Randy Hall 175  18. Charlie Duncan & Mike Duritsky, Jr. 166  20. Dennis Lunger, Jr. 161  21. W.L. Stile 149  22. Jared Kane 140  23. Max Blair 100  24. Josh Double 89  25. Mike Franklin 71.  


You do not have to a member of RUSH to compete.  Transponders are not required.  RACEceivers are always mandatory.  The entry fee is $75.  Fair admission is $8 and pit passes are an additional $20.  Pits open early with passes going on sale at 4:30 p.m.  Warm-ups are slated for approximately 7:10 p.m. followed by racing at 7:30.  The Street Stocks and Pure Stocks are also on the card.


McKean County Raceway is a 1/3-mile dirt track located at the McKean County Fairgrounds in East Smethport, Pa. at the intersections of Route 6 and 46.  For more information on McKean County Raceway, check out their Facebook page at www.facebook.com/McKeanCountyFair or their website at www.mckeancountyfair.net.. The fair number is 814-887-5361.


RUSH Late Model marketing partners include Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC, Pace Performance, Hoosier Tire, Bilstein Shocks, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bazell Race Fuels, Insinger Performance, MSD Performance, Maxima Racing Oil, Jones Racing Products, Alternative Power Sources, Precise Racing Products, ARbodies, TBM Brakes, K&N Filters, Lincoln Electric, FK Rod Ends, Velocita-USA, Classic Ink USA, Rocket Chassis, Bobby Lake Motorsports High Gear Speed Shop, CrateInsider.com, B.R.A.K.E.S., RockAuto.com, and Valley Fashions.


E-mail can be sent to the RUSH Racing Series at [email protected] and snail mail to 4368 Route 422, Pulaski, PA 16143. Office phone is 724-964-9300 and fax is 724-964-0604. The RUSH Racing Series website is www.rushracingseries.com. Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/rushlatemodels and follow us on Twitter @RUSHLM.