By Mike Leone


September 3, 2015               FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


(Orrville, OH)...After two weekends off and a rainout at McKean County Raceway, the Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC RUSH Dirt Late Model Series looks forward to resume action this Sunday (September 6) at Wayne County Speedway for a Bazell/Sunoco Southern Tour event.  The special Labor Day Eve event will feature Tony Stewart’s All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars.


Sunday’s visit to Wayne County marks the third and final visit of the 2015 season at the racey 3/8-mile Orrville, Ohio oval that is winding down its inaugural season of running the Sweeney RUSH Late Models on a weekly basis.  Sunday’s feature winner will again pocket $1,500 at the conclusion of the 25-lap feature.


“We have to thank Wayne County promoters Jason and Kristin Flory for their support and foresight in bringing RUSH to their speedway," stated RUSH Director Vicki Emig.  "Both Jason and Kristin believe in our concept and are strong partners of the Series.  "They went out on a limb to become the furthest westward track to run the RUSH Late Models on a weekly basis and have now established a great foundation from which to build the division from.  Allowing our cars to run in front of large crowds with the All Star Sprints is certainly a benefit for the Series, a highlight for our racers, and perfect stage from which to showcase our brand of exciting racing to the fans in that region.”


The first two events were barnburners with Max Blair and Damian Bidwell battling down to the wire for the victories.  In the inaugural Tour event with the All Stars’ Ohio Speedweek event, Bidwell got by Blair on a late race restart for his first career Tour win; however, on the second show on July 4, Bidwell couldn’t recreate that magic as he lost second to Justin Chance with Blair going on to the victory.


It’s been a competitive first season of RUSH at Wayne County with eight different winners.  Besides the Tour wins by Bidwell and Blair, Charlie Duncan, Ryan Markham, Dennis Lunger, Jr., Jim Nicely, Chance, and most recently Alan Dellinger have scored wins.  The only drivers winning multiple events are Duncan and Markham.  The two veteran Late Model racers each have three victories.  Markham won the GM 604 engine courtesy of Sweeney/Pace Performance on July 4 then proceeded to win his first career RUSH race with it the following week!


Max Blair enters Sunday still in control of the $10,000 pot of gold for the sweep of the Bazell/Sunoco Southern Tour, the Insinger/Sunoco Northern Tour, and the Sweeney Combined Touring Series titles.  The Centerville, Pa. driver has yet to finish worse than sixth in any of the point events to date with seven victories.  Blair leads Jason Knowles by 68 points in the Southern Tour and 133 in the Combined Tour points.   Just 14 points separate positions two through five in the Southern Tour points with Jason Knowles leading Eric Wilson, Brian Knowles, and John Waters. 


The K&N “Cold Air Induction” Dash will be run for the first four drivers that finish outside of the feature redraw spots and will pay $100 K&N certificate to win, $50 K&N certificate for second with $25 cash going to the third and fourth place finishers. 


Precise Racing Products will award a $100 gift card for the "Pedal Down" Hard Charger that passes the most cars in the feature.  The TBM Brakes “Tough Brake of the Night” will award three bottles of Xtreme6 Racing Brake Fluid valued at approximately $45 along with a certificate for a discount off any TBM Brakes purchase.


RUSH Officials will choose the "Maxima Performance" Award for a driver that exhibits a performance worthy of such.  The winner will receive a free case of either Maxima Semi-Syn High Performance Racing Oil or Maxima Performance Racing Oil of your choice.  In addition, the winner will receive one can of SC-1 clear coat, one 16-oz bottle of Maxima Cool-Aide concentrate, one 32-oz quart of Maxima PSF power steering fluid, and a Maxima t-shirt.  The value of this prize package is $170!  


The driver that finishes last on the lead lap will receive a $25 gift certificate from CrateInsider.com.  The first driver that fails to qualify for the feature will receive the ARbodies “Nosed Out” nose kit valued at $260.


Wayne County Feature payoff: 1. $1,500  2. $800  3. $550  4. $410  5. $375  6. $340  7. $325  8. $295  9. $285  10. $280  11. $255  12. $250  13. $230  14. $225  15. $200  16. $195  17. $190  18-24. $185. 

Wayne County Non-Qualifier: 1. $150  2. $125  3. $115  4. $110  5. $105  6. $100  7. $95  8. $90  9. $85  10-24. $80. $75 to any driver failing to start either feature. 


Bazell/Sunoco Southern Tour Points (Drivers must be Touring member to receive points): 1. Max Blair 754  2. Brian Knowles 686  3. Eric Wilson 684  4. Brian Knowles 677  5. John Waters 672  6. Steve Lowery 628  7. Kyle Lukon 491  8. Michael Lake 410  9. Rob Marhefka 384  10. W.L. Stile 317  11. Michael Duritsky, Jr. 282  12. Rick Singleton 273  13. Ryan Montgomery 268  14. Clay Ruffo 245  15. Troy Shields 230  16. Reese Masiello 228  17. Ryan Markham 180  18. Chad McClellan 174  19. Joe Martin 162  20. Doug Gavette 158  21. Russell Baird, Jr. 151  22. Randy Hall 89  23. Kyle Zimmerman 88  24. Andrew Wylie 81  25. Nolan Dalton 72.


Combined Northern/Southern Late Model Tour Points (Drivers must be Touring member to receive points): 1. Max Blair 1342  2. Jason Knowles 1209  3. John Waters 1196  4. Brian Knowles 1188  5. Eric Wilson 1166  6. Steve Lowery 628  7. Randy Hall 617  8. Kyle Lukon 587  9. Bryce Davis 561  10. Rob Marhefka 473  11. W.L. Stile 471  12. Joe Martin 414  13. Michael Lake 410  14. Ward Schell 392  15. Clay Ruffo 385  16. T.J. Downs 373  17. Kyle Zimmerman 341  18. Doug Gavette 316  19. Michael Duritsky, Jr. 282  20. Rick Singleton 273  21. Ryan Montgomery 268  22. Troy Shields 230  23. Reese Masiello & Andrew Wylie 228 25. Dennis Lunger, Jr. 190  26. Ryan Markham 180  27. Chad Wright 176  28. Chad McClellan 174  29. Jeff Dayman 163  30. Russell Baird, Jr. 151  31. Jon Rivers 142  32. Jamie Brown 140  33. Phil Potts 98  34. Adam Sixt 84  35. Matt Harvey 73  36. Nolan Dalton 72  37. Cody Dawson 71  38. Michael Mitchell & Josh Holtgraver 70.


You do not have to a member of RUSH to compete.  The red or yellow AMB transponders can be used.  RACEceivers will be mandatory.  There will be a $75 entry free.  Pit passes are $35.  On Sunday, pits open at 3 p.m. with a drivers meeting at 5:45, warm-ups at 6 and racing at 7


Wayne County Speedway is a 3/8-mile dirt track located at 1083 North Carr Road, Orrville, OH 44667.  For more info, check out their website at www.waynecountyspeedway.com, like them on Facebook at www.facebook.com/waynecountyspeedway and follow them on Twitter @wcsohio.  The track phone number is 330-465-2365.


RUSH Late Model marketing partners include Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC, Pace Performance, Hoosier Tire, Bilstein Shocks, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bazell Race Fuels, Insinger Performance, MSD Performance, Maxima Racing Oil, Jones Racing Products, Alternative Power Sources, Precise Racing Products, ARbodies, TBM Brakes, K&N Filters, Lincoln Electric, Beyea Headers, FK Rod Ends, Bobby Lake Motorsports, Velocita-USA, High Gear Speed Shop, CrateInsider.com, B.R.A.K.E.S., RockAuto.com, and Valley Fashions.


E-mail can be sent to the RUSH Racing Series at [email protected] and snail mail to 4368 Route 422, Pulaski, PA 16143. Office phone is 724-964-9300 and fax is 724-964-0604. The RUSH Racing Series website is www.rushracingseries.com. Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/rushlatemodels and follow us on Twitter @RUSHLM.