By Mike Leone


December 6, 2013             FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


(Pulaski, PA)…While Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC Series Directors Vicki Emig and Mike Leone have been hard at work on the 2014 season, one more item of business from the inaugural 2013 season is still on the docket- the 2013 Awards Banquet.  The affair will take place on Saturday, January 18 at Gatherings Banquet & Event Center in Edinburg, Pa. at 6:30 p.m.


RUSH sanctioned events at a total of 15 different speedways in 2013.  Well over 200 different racers from Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Ontario Canada competed in both weekly-sanctioned and touring series events!


History was made as the Sweeney RUSH Touring Series kicked off its season at Hagerstown Speedway bringing Crate Late Model racing to this renowned facility for the first time ever.  Thirty-six cars shared the card with Lucas Oil and presented a flawless program in front of a new audience of fans.  When the extremely competitive 24-event touring schedule concluded, 12 different racers had visited victory lane and an average car count of 32 per event was recorded. 


Weekly television coverage presented by RainEater Wiper Blades on PCNC’s Open Throttle 360 in the Pittsburgh market, multiple national sponsors, a mobile app- the first of its kind for the region- were just a few of the attributes that helped propel the Series and spurred it’s phenomenal growth. 


Over $70,000 in cash alone will be paid out through various point funds such as the Sweeney Tour, Sweeney Weekly, Pace Performance Summer Chase, Futures Cup, Cross the Borders Speedweek, Bill Emig Memorial Wild Card Weekend, and much more!  Add to that over $50,000 in actual useful product giveaways, and RUSH racers will receive an astounding $120,000 in cash and contingencies!  Over 20 national companies were sponsors during the inaugural season with 30 participating in the Manufacturers Night. 


The top 30 drivers in the Sweeney Weekly Series points will be recognized and share over $25,000 in cash!  On the strength of 13 wins, Max Blair beat out Mike Pegher, Jr. for the $5,000 top prize.  The 23-year-old Blair of Centerville, Pa, who already received $1,000 for being the Speedweek Champion, will add another $3,000 to the bank account for nailing down the Pace Performance “Summer Chase” crown.  The Chase looked at drivers’ average point score from July 1 through Labor Day that competed in a minimum of eight events.  The top 10 drivers in the Chase will share over $10,000! 


Ryan Montgomery, who finished third in the final Sweeney Weekly rundown, came up just 0.631 of a point behind Blair in the Pace Summer Chase.  Montgomery, who was the 2011 Futures Cup Champion, also was the bridesmaid in the Sweeney Tour standings.  The 16-year-old led the points heading into the finale at Lernerville on October 26, but was overtaken by Pegher.  Montgomery did capture the K&N “Cold Air Induction” Dash Championship as he was the only driver to win more than two dashes with three to his credit. 


The 27-year-old Pegher of Wexford, Pa. will earn $5,000 for the Sweeney Tour title along with $3,000 for his runner-up in the Sweeney Weekly standings and another $1,000 for third place in the Pace Summer Chase!  The top 15 drivers in the Sweeney Tour will share in approximately $25,000!


Sixteen-year-old Eric Wilson of Cortland, Ohio came out on top of the “Futures Cup” points by just six over 12-year-old Michael Lake for the $1,000 championship!  The top 10 drivers will share over $3,000!  Wilson won a feature event at Sharon Speedway, while Lake was victorious four times at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex including a Sweeney Tour win in addition to winning one of the three $200 to-win “Futures Cup” Trifecta races! 

Wilson did well in the Sweeney Weekly points as well finishing ninth to earn an $800 check.  Lake wasn’t too far behind in 13th and will also receive a check for 10th place in the Sweeney Tour standings.       


Justin Smith will be recognized for winning the “Wheelman” Bonus Event Challenge Series points for non-qualifier events.  Other special awards will include the Gary Knollinger Memorial Golden Award for sportsmanship, crew chief of the year honors, and special appreciation awards.    


Doors open at 5:30 p.m. with happy hour continuing until 6:30 when dinner will be served.  The awards ceremony will follow dinner.  The special dinner menu will include Italian chicken, filet tips with burgundy rice pilaf, pasta and meatballs, sausage, peppers, and onions, redskin potatoes, buttered corn, fresh garden salad and dinner rolls, specialty desserts, soda, coffee, tea, and draft beer.  A fully stocked cash bar is available. 


Tickets are $36.  An order form is available at www.rushracingseries.com.  Ticket deadline is January 13.  The Gatherings Banquet & Event Center is located just west of New Castle, Pa. on Route 422 at 2552 Benjamin Franklin Highway, Edinburg, PA 16116. 


Sweeney Weekly Series Top 30: 1. MAX BLAIR 1674  2. Mike Pegher, Jr. 1660  3. Ryan Montgomery 1642  4. Chad McClellan 1641  5. Will Thomas III & Dennis Lunger, Jr. 1624  7. Rick Singleton 1620  8. Kyle Lukon 1613  9. Eric Wilson 1598  10. Troy Shields 1597  11. Chad Ruhlman 1590  12. John Over 1589  13. Michael Lake 1588  14. Josh Holtgraver 1586  15. Ward Schell 1584  16. Josh Double 1583  17. Joe Martin 1579  18. Ken Herman 1569  19. Garrett Mott 1552  20. Nico Dabecco 1546  21. Chad Silleman 1544  22. Brad Mesler 1539  23. Matt Latta 1537  24. Bob Kish 1512  25. Adam Sixt 1506  26. Richard “Critter” Hemphill 1501  27. Rocky Kugel 1497  28. Michael Reft 1494  29. Joe Layfield 1492  30. Butch Lambert 1487.

Sweeney Touring Series Driver/Owner Top 15: 1. MIKE PEGHER, JR. (Lynn Geisler 1c) 2376  2. Ryan Montgomery (12) 2373  3. Butch Lambert (27) 1974  4. Cody Dawson (36) 1688  5. Chad Ruhlman (Terry Suppa 4s) 1625  6. Rick Singleton (Clint Enyeart 99*) 1574  7. Joe Martin (55) 1503  8. Matt Glanden (01) 1398  9. Max Blair (111) 1380  10. Michael Lake (27) 1284  11. Andrew Wylie (84) 1262  12. W.L. Stile (1W) 1181  13. Dennis Lunger, Jr. (Rueben Schwartz 71L) 1099  14. Nico Dabecco (Dimitrius Karalagas F1) 1047  15. Jorden Peters (Darren Peters 1P) 1026.


Pace Summer Chase Top 10: 1. 1. MAX BLAIR 108.231  2. Ryan Montgomery 107.6  3. Mike Pegher, Jr. 106.357  4. Chad McClellan 104.125  5. Ken Herman 102.6  6. Troy Shields 102.2  7. Kyle Lukon 101.778  8. John Over 101.444  9. Rick Singleton 101  10. Josh Holtgraver 100.375. 


Futures Cup Top 10: 1. ERIC WILSON 1886  2. Michael Lake 1880  3. Cody Dawson 1623  4. Clay Ruffo 1600  5. Jorden Peters 1547  6. Matt Glanden 1303  7. Jennae Piper 1043  8. Lauren Longbrake 870  9. Shane Weaver 725  10. Brad Blackshear 355. 


K&N “Cold Air Induction” Dash Champion: RYAN MONTGOMERY


“Wheelman” Bonus Event Challenge Series Champion: JUSTIN SMITH


2013 RUSH marketing partners include Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC, Pace Performance, RainEater Wiper Blades, Hoosier Tire, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bazell Race Fuels, Precise Racing Products, ARbodies, The -Brake Man, K&N Filters, Lincoln Electric, TurboStart, K1 RaceGear, Beyea Headers, FK Rod Ends, Bobby Lake Motorsports, Wrisco Industries, High Gear Speed Shop, Utsinger’s Towing, RockAuto.com, and Valley Fashions.

E-mail can be sent to the RUSH Racing Series at [email protected] and snail mail to 4368 Route 422, Pulaski, PA 16143. Office phone is 724-964-9300 and fax is 724-964-0604. The RUSH Racing Series website is www.rushracingseries.com. Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/rushlatemodels and follow us on Twitter @RUSHLM.